National League for Democracy

  • 12/03/2015

The National League for Democracy will field the most candidates of any party in the upcoming election and is set to gain a large portion of seats in the Union Parliament if pre-polling predictions prove correct.

The NLD was formed in the wake of the 1988 student uprisings under the leadership of pro-democracy icon, Aung San Suu Kyi, the daughter of “the father of independence”, Bogyoke Aung San. Myanmar's struggle for democracy and the NLD are inextricably linked; its tens of millions of supporters are unwavering in their belief that the NLD will bring an end to over five decades of authoritarian rule.

Should the NLD form a government, chairman Suu Kyi is bared from the presidency through a clause in the 2008 constitution but has publicly stated that she will be in control of the party regardless of who's president. The constitution awards the military 25% of seats so the NLD must win 67% of seats if it is to have an outright majority, which would enable them to freely pass legislature and choose the president.

Address: 97B West Shwegondaing Road, [1Bahan Township,YangonMyanmar

Phone: 01 640 461

Fax: N/A

Spokesperson: Win Htein 




Party leaders: 

Aung San Suu Kyi, Chairman

Numbers of MPs: 45

State/Region parliament - 3

Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House) -5

Pyithu Hluttaw (Lower House) - 37

Numbers of candidates in 2015 elections: 1123

State/Region parliament - 644

Amyotha Hluttaw (Upper House) - 163

Pyithu Hluttaw (Lower House) - 316

Latest Photos